West Virginia Wesleyan College

Department of Physics and Engineering


Dr. Popson wins AAPT

Distinguished Service Award


    Dr. G. Albert Popson, Professor of Physics and Engineering, was awarded the Distinguished Service Award at the annual meeting of the American Association of Physics Teachers.


     The AAPT was established in 1930 with the fundamental goal of ensuring the “dissemination of knowledge of physics, particularly by way of teaching.” There are currently 10,500 members in 30 countries around the world.


     The Appalachian Section includes college and high school educators from West Virginia, eight Ohio counties, and western Maryland. The section was formed in 1951, and Popson served as its president in 1999.


Dr. Burt Stumpf (left) presents the award to Dr. Bert Popson.