Chambers, Penn Crowned Royalty at Spring Sing

Tuesday, April 16th, 2013

Greek organizations at West Virginia Wesleyan College showed their appreciation for “The Wonderful World of Disney” during Spring Sing 2013 on Saturday, April 13.  In addition to the skits and musical numbers performed by the organizations, Michael Chambers and Djefisah Penn were named King and Queen of Spring Sing.

Chambers is a senior biology major from Ravenswood, WV, and is a member of Chi Phi.  Penn, a senior public relations major from Philadelphia, PA, is a sister of Alpha Delta Pi.

Members of the Queen’s court included seniors Ashley Ferguson, an exercise science major from Newark, DE (Alpha Xi Delta); Maggie Jones, an environmental studies and political science major from Elkins, WV (Zeta Tau Alpha); Kary Kramer, a Christian education major from Elkins, WV (Zeta Tau Alpha); and Tiffany Thompson, a musical theatre major from Brooklyn, NY (Alpha Gamma Delta).  Members of the King’s court included seniors William Herpel, a chemistry major from Accident, MD (Theta Xi); Matt Maynard, a biology major from Elkins, WV (Theta Chi); Skylar McCoy, a chemistry major from Webster Springs, WV (Theta Chi); and Geraldo Pedroza, a theatre arts major from Newark, DE (Phi Mu Alpha).

The freshman attendant was Sydney Pettit, a business major from Glenville, WV (Alpha Delta Pi), escorted by Kelley Machucca, a chemistry major from Bradenton, FL; the sophomore attendant was Somi Jeong, an accounting major from South Korea (Alpha Delta Pi), escorted by Jordan Smith, a criminal justice major from Friendly, WV; and the junior attendant was Emma Turner, a psychology major from Lake Floyd, WV (Alpha Delta Pi), escorted by Michael Mugo, an accounting and economics major from Silver Spring, MD.

The overall winner for the Spring Sing week competition was Zeta Tau Alpha.  They also won the sorority division, banner competition, and Best Director award, under Maggie Jones.  Kappa Alpha Order won the fraternity division.

Spring Sing 2013 Court

Zeta Tau Alpha

Kappa Alpha Order

Zeta Tau Alpha Banner Winner