Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

Wednesday, September 25th, 2013

West Virginia Wesleyan College will induct a basketball standout, one of the College’s all-time great baseball pitchers, a lineman on Wesleyan’s great football teams of the early 1960s, a WVIAC basketball MVP and long-jump record holder, and one of the most prolific scorers in soccer history into the 2013 Athletic Hall of Fame on Saturday, October 12 at 5 p.m. in the Benedum Campus Center Social Hall.

The late Mark Davis ’79 was known as Wesleyan’s Magic Johnson.  The Warren, OH, native could play any position on the floor and netted 1,734 points during his career.  He was a four-year starter and a member of the All-WVIAC team on the Bobcats’ Championship team in 1979.  He was a free agent signee of the Utah Jazz after his playing days at Wesleyan.

Bill Everly ’97 was a dominant pitcher for the Bobcats from 1994-1997 and was selected in the 26th round of the Major League Baseball Draft by the Los Angeles Dodgers.  Everly left Wesleyan as the all-time leader in both strikeouts (258) and innings pitched (232).  His 22 career wins are tied for fourth in school history.

George Lohman ’63 was a second-team All-American at offensive tackle in 1962 and WVIAC Lineman of the Year for the Bobcats and played an instrumental role in leading the 1961 Hall of Fame team to a WVIAC Championship.

Charlie Miller ’66 was both a standout in track and basketball.  He held the long-jump record at the College for 23 years.  He led the basketball team to a WVIAC Tournament title and was named Most Valuable Player.  Miller returned to Wesleyan in 1992, where he was voted WVIAC Coach of the Year in 2002.  The Bobcats won the WVIAC regular season title that year and advanced to the NCAA Division II Tournament for the first time in school history.

Rune Thuestad ’00 scored 98 goals, which ranks him third in NCAA Division II history.  He netted over 20 goals each of his four seasons for Coach Gavin Donaldson.  He led the WVIAC with 29 goals during his senior season and he held the longest consecutive scoring streak in the nation.  Thuestad was an integral part of three WVIAC Championships and NCAA Tournament teams.  In 1999, he was a first-team All-American and WVIAC Player of the Year.

Nominations for the Hall of Fame are due by April 1 each year and should be submitted using the online form at http://wesleyanbobcats.com/athletics/Hall_of_Fame_INFO/Nomination.   Please provide as many details as possible.  Contact Nick Patella MBA ’09, Sports Information Director (patella_n@wvwc.edu) or Kristi Wilkerson ’99, Director of Alumni Relations (Wilkerson@wvwc.edu) with questions.

For a complete list of all Hall of Fame members, go to: www.wesleyanbobcats.com/athletics/halloffame.

Mark Davis

Bill Everly

George Lohman

Charlie Miller