Omicron Delta Kappa Circle Inducts 24 New Members

Friday, March 7th, 2014

The West Virginia Wesleyan College Omicron Delta Kappa Circle inducted twenty-four new members at a ceremony held in the West Meditation Chapel. They are Lorilyn Brown of Sykesville, MD; Courtney Browning of Crooksville, OH; Sarah Campbell of St. Mary’s, WV; Jeniece Clark of Andrews Air Force Base, MD; Toni Dilley of Dunmore, WV; Kayoko Funada of Tokyo, Japan; Tyler Gordon of Buckhannon; Taylor Harris of Mannington, WV; Kelsey Hughes of Damascus, MD; Rachel Marteney of Buckhannon; Michelle Oye of Daniels, WV; Sydney Pettit of Glenville, WV; Aaron Piot of Charleroi, PA; Angela Pittinger of Charles Town, WV; Michael Potesta of Charleston, WV; Justin Seti of Stonewood, WV; Christopher Skinner of Buckhannon; Jade Smith of Hurricane, WV; Shannon Tallman of Elkins, WV; Jamie Wagner of Shrewsbury, PA; Kyra Waugh of Nitro, WV; and Courtney Weaver of Weston, WV.  The organization also inducted two employees: Angela Gay Kinkead, dean of the chapel, and Jessica Scott, instructor of interdisciplinary studies.

The newest members were inducted by Circle President Ashley Young ’14, with assistance by Associate Professor of Education Dr. Shirley Fortney, Director of Alumni Relations Kristi Wilkerson ’99, Professor of Communication Dr. Mary Toale ’96, Director of the School of Health Sciences Thomas Smith ’84, Coordinator of Outreach and Leadership Development Katie Loudin ’07, Vice President for Student Development Julie Keehner, and 2012 inductee Zachary Lonergan ’14.

Front row, l-r: Pittinger, Bibb, Smith, Oye, Clark, Marteney, Dilley, Pettit, Browning, Waugh; Back row, l-r: Wagner, Funada, Piot, Seti, Potesta, Gordon, Campbell, Kinkead, Skinner, L. Brown, Harris

Current Omicron Delta Kappa officers are President Young, Vice President and Acting President Brittany Johnk ’14, and Faculty Secretary and Advisor Smith.

The Omicron Delta Kappa Society, Inc., The National Leadership Honor Society for college students recognizes and encourages superior scholarship, leadership and exemplary character.  ODK was founded December 3, 1914 at Washington and Lee University in Lexington, Virginia by 15 student and faculty leaders.  Omicron Delta Kappa was the first college honor society of a national scope to give recognition for meritorious leadership and service in extracurricular activities; membership in Omicron Delta Kappa continues to be a mark of highest distinction and honor.  The Society is now present on the campuses of over 300 colleges and universities around the country.