Skip Navigation

Students Receive NASA Fellowship Awards

Apr 12, 2018

West Virginia Wesleyan College’s Department of Physics and Engineering was successful at the April 2018 meeting of the NASA WV Space Grant Consortium (WVSGC). Outcomes were announced by our Physics Professor Dr. Joseph Wiest, who serves on the NASA WVSGC Board of Directors.

Student winners included Paige Stinson, a junior from Salem, VA, who was awarded a research fellowship starting this summer to probe the nucleus with tunable lasers; Ethan Randolph, a sophomore from Martinsburg, WV, who will build a 10-year battery, with no need for recharging, using isotopes that emit electrons designed to be used in a remote location such as the Arctic, a planet, or moon.

In addition, John Harvey, a sophomore from Cross Lanes, WV, and Conner Farrell, a sophomore from Huntington, WV, will help develop a plasma physics laboratory under WVWC faculty. In addition, the Department received funding for 11 research undergraduate scholarships and faculty research enhancement awards.

Angela Meyer, a senior from Elkview, WV, gave a presentation on last year’s project entitled Science in the Park with Dr. Tracey DeLaney, assistant professor of physics. As a result, Meyer was presented with an offer for a summer internship at the Clay Center in their growing science museum.

For more information on the West Virginia Wesleyan College Department of Physics and Engineering, please visit

Cutline: Department Chair Dr. Albert Popson, John Harvey, Angela Meyer, Connor Farrell, Dr. Tracey DeLaney, Ethan Randolph. Not pictured: Paige Stinson.