Skip Navigation

Wesleyan Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa Honorary Inducts 27

Apr 16, 2018

The West Virginia Wesleyan College Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa (ODK) conducted its 55th annual induction on Friday, April 13 on the Buckhannon campus. The circle inducted three graduate students, 13 juniors, and 11 seniors. In addition, two faculty members and one staff member were inducted: Dr. Molly Clever, assistant professor of sociology; Dr. R Daniel Hughes, director of choral activities and associate professor of music; and Keith Saine, director of technical theatre.

The Wesleyan Circle of ODK was established in 1963 and has inducted over 1,000 students, faculty, and staff. Student eligibility is based on the top 35% of each class in scholarship, as well as participation in one of the following: athletics, music, arts, journalism, and community service.

Student inducted include Katlyn Buckland of Blountville, TN; Leah Casarano of Arthurdale, WV; Dr. Molly Clever of Buckhannon; Lauren Clower of Cross Lanes, WV; Kari Conaway of Saint Marys, WV; Elaina DePetro of Pittsburgh, PA; Aleah Dye of Big Bend, WV; Sarah Fizer of Martinsburg, WV; Savannah Gwinn of Beckley, WV; Dr. R. Daniel Hughes of Bridgeport, WV; Ethan Hull of Buckhannon; Joanna Johnston of Hurricane, WV; Hannah Jones of South Charleston, WV; Mason Lee of Wheeling, WV; Caitlin May of Arthurdale, WV; Madison Ovies of Franklin, TN; Alyssa Perry of Ripley, WV; Kathryn Quillen of Vienna, WV; Brandon Richter of Salem, WV; Gillian Ross of Buckhannon; Keith Saine of Elkins, WV; Arin Shatto of Ripley, WV; Lauren Shelton of Wellsburg, WV; Leah Smith of Falling Waters, WV; Sarah Smith of Bristol, WV; Faith Tichnell of Oakland, MD; Megan Williams of Buckhannon; Eric Wooten of Barboursville, WV; and Marissa Zetty of Grindstone, PA.

Participating in the ceremony were ODK members from across campus, including Bob Skinner ’75, vice president for advancement; Katie Loudin ’07, director of the Center for Community Engagement & Leadership Development; Dr. Thomas Smith ’83, faculty advisor; and Alisa Lively, director of Campus Life. Student officers include President Charles Wall, Treasurer Logan Tucker, and Secretary Shannon Smith.

Omicron Delta Kappa was founded on Dec. 3, 1914 on the campus of Washington and Lee University in Lexington, VA. The Society was founded by a group of 15 students and faculty who believed that leadership at the collegiate level should be recognized and encouraged across all phases of campus life. The motives which guided the founders sprang from the desire to bring together one body for the general good of the institution, leaders from all parts of the college or university community. The success of the O∆K Idea, an essential part of which is its inter-generational nature and a determination to maintain a consistent and high standard of leadership recognition, led to the establishment of chapters, which are called circles, at other colleges.

Cutline: Pictured above are inductees of the Wesleyan Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa.