Skip Navigation

WV Scholar Semifinalists Announced

May 7, 2018

Semifinalists for the 11st West Virginia Scholar Program have been announced. Fifteen juniors will move on in the competition in hopes of winning a full scholarship to West Virginia Wesleyan College.

The following students have been named semifinalists: Elysia Cain of Salem, Liberty High School; Shaylen Chenoweth of Elkins, Elkins High School; Alanna Claypool of Clarksburg, Apostolic Christian Academy; Tyler Gray of Upperglade, Grafton High School; Sarah Heilman of Wheeling, Wheeling Park High School; Jackson Johnson of Charleston, George Washington High School; Cole Kleppner of Inwood, Musselman High School; Lydia Knutsen of Glen Dale, John Marshall High School; Kameron Lucky of Summersville, New Life Christian Academy; Katherine Marks of Wellsburg, Brooke High School; Christopher Neighbors of Charles Town, Washington High School; Easton Perry of Ripley, Ripley High School; Cameron Whetzel of Philippi, Philip Barbour High School; ShaiAnne Williams of Webster Springs, Webster County High School; and Bailey Withrow of Lewsiburg, Greenbrier East High School.

Interviews with semifinalists will be conducted to trim the list to the top ten. Finalists will be announced May 25. Online voting will take place from May 25 through June 15, and the scholarship winner will be announced during a luncheon at Wesleyan on June 21.

The winner will receive a full-ride scholarship to WVWC, and additional scholarships will be awarded.

The program is in partnership with MetroNews. Other sponsors include West Virginia Hospital Association; ZMM Architects; Friends of Coal; West Virginia Forestry Association; Architectural Interior Products, INC; RBC Wealth Management; West Virginia Farm Bureau; and KOMAX Business Systems.