Skip Navigation

Wesleyan Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa Honor Society Inducts 24

Omicron Delta Kappa National Leadership Society 2019 Induction
Mar 28, 2019

The West Virginia Wesleyan College Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa (ODK) conducted its 56th annual induction on Friday, March 15 on the Buckhannon campus. The circle inducted 12 juniors, seven seniors, and one graduate student. In addition, two faculty members and two staff members were inducted: Dr. Tammy Jo Samples, associate professor of education; Dr. Edward Wovchko, professor of chemistry; Jonathan Andrew, IT systems analyst; and Shauna Hambrick Jones, First Year advisor at the Student Success Center.

The Wesleyan Circle of ODK was established in 1963 and has inducted over 1,000 students, faculty, and staff. Student eligibility is based on the top 35 percent of each class in scholarship, as well as participation in one of the following: athletics, music, arts, journalism, and community service.

Students inducted include Megan Allen of Elkview, WV; Kylea Arnold of Weston, WV; Brianna Bevil of Nimitz, WV; Abigail Buchan of Charlton Heights, WV; Leighanna Connell of Louisville, KY; Martina Edgell of Fairmont, WV; Taylor Garner of Vienna, WV; Molly Gorges of Bethel Park, PA; Zoei Kirk of Rockville, MD; Courtney-Dee Kovar of Salem, WV; Mariona Junyer-Puig of Buckhannon, WV; Laurel Lloyd of Sutton, WV; Madeleine Marks of Wellsburg, WV; Samantha Marteney of Buckhannon, WV; Michael Mueller of Wheeling, WV; Emily Rebelo of Kingwood, WV; Chloé Sergent of Milton, WV; Anna Slayden of Martinsburg, WV; Brittany Stawovy of Belle Vernon, PA; and Lindsay Wright of Buckhannon, WV.

Participating in the ceremony were College President Joel Theirstein, and ODK members from across campus, including Bob Skinner ’75, vice president for advancement; Katie Loudin ’07, director of the Center for Community Engagement & Leadership Development; Dr. Thomas Smith ’83, faculty advisor; Alisa Lively, director of Campus Life; and Jessica Vincent, assistant director of Community Engagement. Student officers include President Kathryn Quillen, Treasurer Brandon Richter, and Vice President Marissa Zetty.

Omicron Delta Kappa was founded on Dec. 3, 1914, on the campus of Washington and Lee University in Lexington, VA. The Society was founded by a group of 15 students and faculty who believed that leadership at the collegiate level should be recognized and encouraged across all phases of campus life. The motives which guided the founders sprang from the desire to bring together one body for the general good of the institution, leaders from all parts of the college or university community. The success of the O∆K Idea, an essential part of which is its inter-generational nature and a determination to maintain a consistent and high standard of leadership recognition, led to the establishment of chapters, which are called circles, at other colleges.